Make someone elses dream wedding achievable with YHA

image

Following the huge success of the YHA Lost Property Charity Shop at London St Paul’s which has run for the last two years, they’ve decided to extend this throughout England and Wales! The next London event is in the first week of September. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to make it as I’m off to sunnier climes (very needed!). However, after reading about how this charity helps others, I had a thought: How amazing would it be if us former brides donated items from our weddings we no longer have use for? These could be accessories, table settings, flower girl dresses, bow ties- every little helps!

image

I have a number of items that never ended up being used on the big day, purely because I was so indecisive so bought too many options. For example, I have a guest book that was never used because I found another I liked more, pull bows for the aisle decorations in the church and accessories that I never wore. What do you have that you wouldn’t mind giving up for someone who will cherish it and otherwise could not afford their dream day? Thinking towards wedding guests, what about an outfit you’ve worn to a wedding? A hat, maybe a clutch bag? These would all be useful to someone! If you’re interested please see the bottom of this post for a list of email addresses for the relevant location(s) you’d like to visit or donate to!

Why go to a YHA event?

These unique events will tap into the vintage and upcycle culture which is currently taking Great Britain by storm. It’s all about recycling lost property and donated items to fundraise for our work with young people. Grab an item with a story behind it – everything on sale was left behind in our hostels! Whether it’s a cupcake stall, face painting or even live music, add on events will be run alongside these vintage fairs to give a bit of extra sparkle on the day and make for a great day out.

Clothes, jewellery and the most random of random belongings left behind by guests throughout the last year or kindly donated by travellers who over-shopped on the high streets and had to leave some of their belongings behind will be available to the discerning customer.

Vintage, pre-loved and second-hand clothes are great for giving you a distinctly different look and every piece tells a story – you never know who might have left something behind! From designer threads to homemade garments, you’ll definitely find something to suit your trend tastes here. Some events are also showcasing some local student designers so you may be able to pick up an original piece from the next Vivienne Westwood or Karl Lagerfeld!

Pop-Up Charity Shops will be happening at:

YHA Ambleside – 11am-4pm 5th Septemberambleside@yha.org.uk

YHA Bristol – 11am-3pm 6th September 
YHA Cambridge – 11am-4pm 5th Septembercambridge@yha.org.uk

YHA Cardiff Central – 11am-4pm 5th Septembercardiffcentral@yha.org.uk

YHA Keswick – 11am-4pm 5th September keswick@yha.org.uk

YHA Liverpool – 11am-4pm 5th September liverpool@yha.org.uk

YHA London St Paul’s – 11am-4pm 6th Septemberstpauls@yha.org.uk

YHA Malham – 11am-3pm 6th September malham@yha.org.uk

YHA York – 10am-5pm 5th September york@yha.org.uk

YHA Whitby – 10am-6pm 6th September whitby@yha.org.uk

Special thanks to Samantha from YHA for bringing this event to my attention!

image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *